Skip to content

Personal Injury & Property Damage

1st and 3rd party Vehicle accident and No Fault,

Negligent premises security, (Criminal assaults@ Malls, Casinos,Hotels)

Premises liability, (slip and fall; dog bite)

Toxic chemical exposure,

Federal tort claims

Medical malpractice &  Wrongful death.

Social Security SSD or SSI

WHAT IS CONSIDERED A “PERSONAL INJURY” ?

personal injury can be generally described as harm caused to a person. Some examples include a body impairment, from a spinal injury, disc herniation, broken bone, or torn connective tissue, a disfigurement or permanent scar, even wrongful death and may even include loss sustained to a spouse, family member or reputation such as libel or slander.

Depending upon whether the injury occurred at your place of employment, at the local pub or on that automobile trip with the family, any type of bodily injury as a result of an accidental attack or a drivers negligence can be categorized as a personal injury, and you may have a right to file a claim for compensation or a law suit to recover damages from whoever is  responsible for causing those injuries.

If you or a family member has been injured in an accident that has caused personal injury or property damage, resulting in medical expenses, work loss, household replacement service, daily living assistance or death, the clock begins ticking immediately following the accident. Michigan has very strict statutory time limitations when it relates to accident victims.

For example, people injured in an accident involving a motor vehicle must give “written” notice to an insurance company who may be liable for first party benefits coverage, generally within the first 6 months and file suit for first party no fault or uninsured motorist covered benefits within one (1) year following the accident or most recent insurance reimbursement or it may be lost. In a claim for homeowners insurance benefits recovery for property loss, “written” notice to the insurer must be made within the first 6 months and any lawsuit must generally be filed within one year of the insurers mailing a “denial of benefits” letter. In cases of fire loss under current Michigan statute the one year begins to run after the insurer receives notice of loss, usually the day of the fire, subject to the tolling provisions in the statute.

If you would like to contact me concerning representation in your case:
email: prj@prjoneslaw.com.

%d bloggers like this: